Game Day Artichoke Dip

Last Saturday was the second to last round of the NCAA tournament and I was in San Francisco visiting my brother and sister-in-law, huge Duke fans. I was tasked with making an appetizer that would please some of their friends coming to watch the game. I made this easy and tasty artichoke dip….because who doesn’t like artichoke dip.

The next time I make it I might make a few adjustments. I’m sure adding a few dashes of Tabasco or red pepper flakes might be a nice addition, as would a few cut up pieces of sundried tomatoes folded in at step #2. (You can see the influence California cooking has had on me). Serve this with pita chips (I like Stacy’s) and some raw veggies (or in my case matzo since it was still Passover).

Ingredients:

2 cans (14 ounces each) artichoke hearts in water, rinsed, drained, and coarsely chopped
½ cup light mayonnaise
¼ cup plus 1 ½ tablespoon grated Parmesan cheese
½ tablespoon fresh lemon juice
2 garlic cloves
1 scallion, minced, plus more for garnish
Pita chips or crudités (such as carrots or sugar snap peas) for serving

1.    Preheat oven to 425˚. In a food processor, place half the artichokes, the mayonnaise, a cup of Parmesan, lemon juice, and garlic. Process until smooth.
2.    Add scallions and the remaining artichokes. Pulse once to combine. Transfer to a 1-quart baking dish. Top with remaining Parmesan cheese.
3.    Bake until golden and bubbling, 30-35 minutes. Garnish with scallions, and serve.

Serves 8

Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food

Leave a Reply

