Grandma Jeanne’s Blueberry Cake

I have to be honest from the get-go, my Grandma Jeanne wasn’t the best chef.  Harsh but true. My first major memory of Grandma Jeanne was when my family went out to meet her at her house on Cape Cod. (My Grandpa remarried after my Grandma Judy passed away.) She made us hamburgers…something you wouldn’t think would be hard to mess up. But some how she managed to make them taste funky. By the age of 4, I considered myself a hamburger connoisseur and these burgers were just wrong. Despite my complaints my Mom kept my brother and I hushed and some how we powered through that meal.

While we all were a little nervous when Grandma cooked dinner, we welcomed her baked goods. This was her strong suit for sure. She always had something baking—brownies, ruggalah, muffins, and my favorite⎯blueberry cake.  When I make this cake I think of our summer visits to her house in Cape Cod, sitting on the deck in the morning and breathing in the intoxicating aroma of sugar, cinnamon, and blueberries. When you make this recipe you will fill your house with the same smell.DSC00648

Grandma Jeanne’s Blueberry Cake

½ cup butter
2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
½ cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
2 ½ cups blueberries

Topping: mix together 2 teaspoons cinnamon and 2 teaspoons sugar

1.    Preheat over to 375°. Grease a bundt pan or loaf pan.
2.    Cream butter and sugar together. Add eggs one at a time and mix after each addition.
3.    Sift dry ingredients.
4.    Add dry ingredients alternately with milk. Add vanilla and mix again.
5.    Mash ½ cup of blueberries (can use potato masher or blender on slow) and fold by hand into the mixture.  Add the rest of the blueberries and gently fold into mixture.
6.    Sprinkle topping mixture over the blueberry batter.
7.    Bake for 45 to 50 minutes. Let cool for 20 to 30 minutes before transferring to a serving plate.

Note: This recipe can be made into muffins. Place in paper muffin tins and bake for 30 minutes at 375°.

3 responses to “Grandma Jeanne’s Blueberry Cake

  1. So where on Cape Cod was it that your Grandma lived? Love the recipe. Lots of wild blueberries growing in the area and I hoped she used them!

  2. She lived on Mashpee. I’m pretty sure she always used wild blueberries from the area.

  3. I made the Blueberry Cake and according to your brother it turned out perfectly! Thanks for the sharing the family recipe!

Leave a Reply

