“I’m an Auntie!!” Cupcakes

On July 11th an adorably cute little addition entered my life ⎯my beloved niece Maile (pronounced My-lee). I try not to think I’m prejudiced but I’m pretty sure she is the most beautiful baby ever born.IMG_1487

I now see it as my duty to be the “fun and exciting” Auntie. Pretty much anything Maile wants to do and try, I’ll be there to make sure it happens (within reason of course). She can expect to come to my place to eat French toast for dinner, get messy with finger paint, learn how to put on the perfect lip liner, and stay up late in to the evening giggling and dancing around. But in the meantime I’m going to do what I do best⎯make her deliciously rich cupcakes.

Her mother and I have a strong love affair with all things chocolate, and even better all things cupcake. Maile isn’t quite eating solids yet, but when that time comes, I can’t wait to bake for her. In her honor, I hope you all enjoy these wonderful cupcakes.

DSC00634

“I’m An Auntie” Black Bottom Cupcakes

1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened (make sure to use Philadelphia or something similar. Organic cream cheese will not work)
1 egg
1 cup white sugar + 1/3 cup
½ teaspoon  + 1/8 teaspoon salt
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
¼ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup water
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 tablespoon cider vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1.    Preheat over to 350 degrees. Line muffin tins with paper cups (or lightly spray with non-stick cooking spray).
2.    In a medium bowl beat the cream cheese, egg, 1/3 cup sugar, and 1/8 teaspoon salt until light and fluffy. Stir in the chocolate chips and set aside.
3.    In a large bowl, mix together the flour, 1 cup sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, and ½ teaspoon salt. Make a well in the center and add the water, oil, vinegar, and vanilla. Stir together until well blended.
4.    Fill muffin tins 1/3 full with the batter and top with a dollop of the cream cheese mixture.
5.    Bake in preheated over for about 25-30 minutes.

These cupcakes can be stored in an airtight container for up to 3 days. I refrigerated them and then let them come to room temperature before eating them, but it’s not necessary to keep them in the fridge after being baked.

Makes 12 cupcakes

5 responses to ““I’m an Auntie!!” Cupcakes

  1. Oh wow. Aunt Elyssa you sound so cool. I don’t know what half those things are that you mentioned, but I can’t wait to do them with you anyways. Oh, and my mom and dad humbly request that you make these amazing sounding cupcakes when you come to meet me in a couple weeks! Can’t wait! Love, Maile

  2. awww Congrats! Those look delish!

  3. Maile, I promise to make these cupcakes and a lot more when I visit next week. If anything is certain it is this: your family will be well fed!

  4. Elyssa, You will be the best Aunt imaginable!

  5. Pingback: Cheesecake-Marbled Brownies « State Dinner

Leave a Reply

